The process of designing a chair

As I’m starting to look into the assignment for this semester I really need to figure out where my focus will be.
I’ve previously worked with furniture and chair design in a school context. And after being away from the school of architecture for 1½ years. I really need to remember what it is like to work with a long process for several months. And not how it is in “the real world” where the process might only last a week and the design phase another week or maybe two – if you’re lucky!

In past workshops I’ve usually started with a very hands-on approach. Making 1:1 mockup models and prototypes. – As seen below from a 6 week workshop with a given programme.
But as I’ll be writing my own design programme this semester. I’ll have to start my process differently.
I’ll need to figure out what type of chair I want to make, and start registrations from there.

My thoughts so far is to make a chair – that is stackable – for outdoor concerts. Or I might make a chair – that is stackable – for a given location, probably an auditorium or small concert venue. This will give me the chance to work with several new aspects of furniture design that I’ve not dived into and worked on properly before.
And at the same time I’ll be working with fellow students who are following an already specific course. With a given programme.
I’ll need to figure out when to seperate from their workshops and focus on my own self-programmed semester. Unfortunately I can’t really do both. Even though they will be working in a different way then me, since they have another year/year and a half left of school, it seems like they will have an interesting furniture semester. Where they will end up with 5-6 different chairs based on different techniques, materials, and points of focus.

Hopefully I’ll end up with several prototypes as well, but my initial thoughts are that they should all be prototypes of the development of the same chair. Not prototypes in 1:1 of 5-6 different chairs.

thread chair

thread chair – from sketches to prototype

 

workshop chair - a thread chair
workshop chair – a thread chair – prototype


About dyrkjaer.dk

Matthias Dyrkjaer Kisch is a design student at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, School of Architecture in Copenhagen, Denmark. My main focus, and where my interest lies, is furniture design, architecture on a small scale and design on a large scale . I work with a very hands-on process with many prototypes, models and mockups along with computer and hand drawings.

Leave a Reply

