Workshop #1 A Stick Chair – Finished Chair

Due to the amount of time I had to spend on a different course – Architectural Theory and Method 2; more on that to come later – I did’t have quite so much time for sketching as I would have liked. But for a chair drawn in a day and built in 2 days I’m quite satisfied with the result.

The chair is made from construction laths. Probably the cheapest wood you can get, at about $1/m. And is put together using only wood glue and wooden dowels. I worked with – as previously stated – the archetype of a chair. So The initial look of the chair is as one of the most simple version of what we imagine a chair shoulde be.  But I’ve worked with altering the dimensions slightly. The chair is just a bit to wide for it to feel like a regular chair, but not wide enough to fit two people at the same time.

And of course the chair is stackable. The first of – hopefully – my series of stackable chairs I’ll be working with this semester. Total cost of the chair is about $12 and of course a couple of splinters.

workshop # 1 - A stick chair
workshop # 1 – A stick chair


About dyrkjaer.dk

Matthias Dyrkjaer Kisch is a design student at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, School of Architecture in Copenhagen, Denmark. My main focus, and where my interest lies, is furniture design, architecture on a small scale and design on a large scale . I work with a very hands-on process with many prototypes, models and mockups along with computer and hand drawings.

Leave a Reply

