Workshop #1 A Stick Chair

For the first workshop; the goal is to create a stick chair in one week using only construction laths with a dimension of 38×57 mm -though the laths can be split/planed/etc. as long as it remains with a stick like appearence.

The chair should be a ‘side chair’ like the Arne Jacobsen 7 series, Eames fiberglass chair, etc.

My focus for the assignment is to work with the idea of the archetypical chair. The most simple version of what we imagine a chair should be and how a chair should look. I’ll add the function that the chair must be stackable. As I’m about to start preparing for the my final semester – I know it’s still half a year from now – But that just means that this is the time for me to work with parts of the chair that I have not previously worked with. And the stackable chair is one of those very archetypical types that I would like to consider and to work with before my final semester and my thesis project.

sketches for an archetypical chair
sketches for an archetypical chair


About dyrkjaer.dk

Matthias Dyrkjaer Kisch is a design student at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, School of Architecture in Copenhagen, Denmark. My main focus, and where my interest lies, is furniture design, architecture on a small scale and design on a large scale . I work with a very hands-on process with many prototypes, models and mockups along with computer and hand drawings.

Leave a Reply

